DISCOVER WEXFORD - WEXFORD TOURISM

Follow us on


The Web Portal for Wexford since 1995
|  Contact Us  |  Privacy Statement  |  Discover Wexford  |  Wexford Web 2014   




.
LOFTUS HALL - WEXFORD
.




 Loftus Hall is famous for its "Ghost" and this curiosity surfaces every
 time the name of the place is mentioned. It has been regularly
 featured in articles and films. 

 It also occupies the most unusual site for a country mansion as the
 bleak and exposed landmark which dominates the landscape on the
 Hook peninsula.

 Loftus Hall became a hotel when it was purchased from the Sisters
 of Providence, better known as the "Rossminian nuns"

 Loftus Hall was built by the 4th Marquis of Ely in 1870-1871 on the

Loftus Hall  -  Photo by Cian Clarke
 ruins of Redmond Hall, which had existed since 1350. Redmond Hallbecame the property of the Loftus family in 1666,
 and afterwards the old mansion became known as Loftus Hall.

 It was here that the famous "ghost" story originated in the middle of the 18th century. Charles Tottenham came to
 live for a time at the old Loftus Hall.
 On a stormy winter's night as the family relaxed before a roaring log fire, a stranger arrived on horseback, and was invited to stay the night.

 After the refreshments he participated in a game of cards. During the game a card fell upon the floor. A lady who bent down to retrieve the
 fallen card was shocked to discover that the stranger had a cloven foot!

 Immediately she screamed in terror. The "stranger" vanished through the ceiling in a puff of smoke. Apparently, this was just one of a
 succession of terrifying experiences associated with Loftus Hall.

 Fr. Thomas Broaders was called upon to exorcise the disturbing evil spirit, and his powers worked! Fr. Broaders later became parish priest of
 the united parishes of the Hook and Ramsgrange for almost fifty years.

 Canon Broaders died in January, 1773, and on his tomb in Horetown Cemetery is the following epitaph;

"here lies the body of Thomas Broaders,

Who did good and prayed for all.

And banished the Devil from Loftus Hall."

 The Loftus Hall in which the ghostly happenings occurred was levelled to the ground in 1871 and the present mansion was erected in its
 place. 
 It is a three storey non-basement mansion with a nine bay front. It has a balustraded parapet. One of the features of the mansion is a
 magnificent hand carved oak staircase. There are other fine examples of good craftsmanship too.

 Loftus Hall was occupied by the Benedictines from 1917 to 1935, and by the Rossminians from 1937 until 1983.

 Loftus Hall stands on 70 acres of land and includes five reception rooms and twenty-two bedrooms.

 

WEXFORD WEB DESIGN


Wexford Web 2014

New visitors by country