DISCOVER WEXFORD - WEXFORD TOURISM

Follow us on


The Web Portal for Wexford since 1995
|  Contact Us  |  Privacy Statement  |  Discover Wexford  |  Wexford Web 2014   




.
WEXFORD BULLRING & PIKEMAN STATUE
.




 The famous Wexford Bullring was recently given a total facelift to commemorate
 the Bi-centenary of the 1798 Rebellion.

 The area was originally a beach where boats were drawn up laden with produce
 bound for the town's markets. 

 It got its present name from the medieval sport of Bull-baiting, introduced to the
 town by the Butchers' Guild. 

 From 1621 until 1770, bulls were baited twice a year and their hides presented to
 the Mayor. According to tradition, Cromwell's soldiers massacred part of the
 civilian population here in October 1649.

 Then, during the 1798 rebellion, the Bullring became an open-air armaments factory, making and repairing pikes and
 other weapons for the insurgents.

Wexford Bullring 2006
Photo by James Busher
Over the years the Bullring has been the venue of many political rallies and  protests : Daniel O'Connell, Charles Stewart Parnell, John Redmond, James Larkin
and 
Eamonn de Valera are among the many political figures who have addressed
audiences in this historic square at the heart of Wexford.

A 'Tree of Liberty", an oak, was planted in the centre of the Bullring, and embedded
in the ground behind the Pikeman statue is a 'time capsule' taking the form of a metal cylinder containing items reflective of Wexford life today.

The limestone setts which sit on either side of the monument feature inscriptions relating
to 1798 while bollards in the shape of cannonballs line the area.

Lime trees have been planted at a number of points. 
The re-construction of the Bullring was carried out as a 1798 bicentenary project
and was officially opened on 31st May, 1998 by President Mary McAleese.

Pikeman Statue
at the Wexford Bullring
 

WEXFORD WEB DESIGN


Wexford Web 2014

New visitors by country